PAKSIW NA ISDA

downloadhttp://panlasangpinoy.com/2010/08/30/paksiw-na-isda-recipe/

I grew-up ignoring this dish. When my father serves this for lunch or dinner, I would go straight to the pantry and open a can of corned beef for myself. I’m sure that most of you can relate. But for now on, I actually like to eat  this dish, when my mama told me that we don’t have another dish to cook in that day and when I taste it I appreciated the taste of this simple dish its like a Lechon Paksiw. This dish taste sour that having a little sweetness that suit to my tongue. So Delicious! It’s about time to you to learn and experience to cook this dish through the ingredients and procedure that I listed below or else you wouldn’t have had experienced the pleasures in trying different Filipino Food esp. this Paksiw na Isda.  You need to try to taste it and you will like it. It is so easy to cook!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 pieces fish (about half a pound each), cleaned and scales removed
  • 1 knob ginger, sliced and pounded
  • 6 cloves garlic, skin removed
  • ½ cup vinegar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 1 small bitter gourd, chopped (optional)
  • 3 pieces finger chili
  • 2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon whole peppercorn

PROCEDURE:

  1. Heat a pan and cooking pot then pour-in vinegar and water.
  2. Add salt and whole peppercorn then stir. Bring to a boil.
  3. Arrange the fish in the pan along with the ginger, garlic, onion, bitter gourd, and finger chili. Cover and simmer in low to medium heat for 12 to 15 minutes.
  4. Turn off the heat and transfer to a serving plate.
  5. Serve hot with steamed rice. Share and enjoy!
  6. Note: You may substitute salt with ¾ to 1 tablespoon fish sauce.
7 thoughts on “PAKSIW NA ISDA

  1. Same to me.I really don’t like to eat this kind of viand.I don’t know why?
    But when I try tasting it… it is good and delicious.
    and one of the menu in our family is paksiw.
    It is simple and its easy to cook it……..

    ~Argelyn Ayuba~

    Like

  2. it so pleasure to me that i know how to cook this kind of viand. its so ordinary to see that kind of food but if you taste it its really delicious especially when you eat rice it taste so good.

    -jumawan

    Like

Leave a Reply

